Student exchange programs and study abroad opportunities are mainstays at most U.S. universities. 
But some students forgo the American college experience altogether and instead spend their college careers abroad. 

USA TODAY College spoke with three students about their experiences. 

Caroline:

“Attending college abroad was never in my plans. After my mom convinced me to add St. Andrews to a list of schools I was applying to and I got in, I was in the mindset that if it didn’t work out I could always figure something out, but I would regret it if I didn’t go.

There aren’t many other times in your life where you have the opportunity, support and lack of other commitments to drop everything and move to another country to study for four years.”

Read more about their experiences | USA TODAY

