Fortune

The Leadership Insider network is an online community where the most thoughtful and influential people in business contribute answers to timely questions about careers and leadership. Today’s answer to the question: What’s the best way to network? is written by David DeWolf, president and CEO of 3Pillar Global.

I’ll admit it. I’m an introvert. Networkingespecially at happy hours and conferencesis probably the most painful experience I have to regularly subject myself to. Get me into a conversation and I’m fine, but ask me to introduce myself to a stranger or ‘work a room’ and I become an awkward preteen at a junior high dance. Yes, I become a wallflower.

Over the years, I have learned to overcome many of my fears, but more importantly, I have learned to network in a manner that is more conducive to my own personality. Instead of relying on my…

View original post 668 more words

